Debts Recovery Appellate Tribunals (DRATs)

Debts Recovery Tribunals (DRTs)

Digital India

• The Recovery of Debts Due to Banks and Financial Institutions Act, 1993 (RDDBFI Act) provides speedy redressal to lenders and borrowers through filing of Original Applications (OAs) in Debts Recovery Tribunals (DRTs) and appeals in Debts Recovery Appellate Tribunals (DRATs).

• The Securitisation and Reconstruction of Financial Assets & Enforcement of Security Interest Act, 2002 (SARFAESI Act) provides access to banks and financial institutions covered under the Act for recovery of secured debts from the borrowers without the intervention of the Courts at the first stage. Securitisation Appeals (SAs) can be filed with the DRTs by those aggrieved against action taken by secured creditors under the SARFAESI Act.

Tribunal Jurisdictions
There are 39 DRTs and 5 DRATs, which are single Member Tribunals. The jurisdiction of DRATs and list of DRTs is as below:

DRAT Allahabad (Jurisdiction over 6 DRTs)
DRT Allahabad, DRT Dehradun, DRT Jabalpur, DRT Lucknow, DRT Patna and DRT Ranchi.
DRAT Chennai (Jurisdiction over 9 DRTs)
DRTs at Chennai (1, 2, 3), DRTs at Bengaluru (1, 2), DRT Coimbatore, DRTs at Ernakulam (1, 2), and DRT Madurai.
DRAT Delhi (Jurisdiction over 7 DRTs)
DRTs at Delhi (1, 2, 3), DRTs at Chandigarh (1, 2, 3) and DRT Jaipur.
DRAT Kolkata (Jurisdiction over 9 DRTs)
DRTs at Kolkata (1, 2, 3), DRT Cuttack, DRT Guwahati, DRTs at Hyderabad (1, 2), DRT Siliguri and DRT Visakhapatnam.
DRAT Mumbai (Jurisdiction over 8 DRTs
DRTs at Mumbai (1, 2, 3), DRTs at Ahmedabad (1,2), DRT Aurangabad, DRT Pune, DRT Nagpur.

Recent Developments
The e-DRT project has been implemented in all DRTs and DRATs. This project aims to bring in improved access, efficiency and transparency. e-DRT provides access to e-filing, e-payment of fees, cause list generation and a case information system that enables viewing of case status, orders and judgments.